Interpret with the courage of your convictions.


julia

I did not expect to love the film Julie and Julia so much. But there’s something I love about a pudgy expat woman in her 40s sticking it to the publishing industry, French aristocracy, and TV culture.

Julie Child is famous for saying “cook with the courage of your convictions.” And although I have no idea if she actually said this, I like it.

And here’s why I thought of it. Just this week I started teaching an online course for 15 working interpreters from around Ohio. To start the course, I spoke with each participant on the phone to hear more about what moves them.

I loved hearing their stories of struggle and success. Interpreters who, despite being misunderstood by virtually everyone in the school system, have found bold, creative ways to empower mainstreamed deaf students against all odds.

These interpreters don’t check their job description before caring for others. They don’t start by saying, “that’s not my job.” They don’t assume that someone else will solve these problems. They jump in. They find a way. They make things happen.

Despite the educational industry. Despite the interpreting aristocracy. Despite the culture that tells them to do the minimum work possible to collect a paycheck.

“Bravo!” Julie Child applauds you.

Leave a Reply

